Cafe-Frappa-Cappa-Waaa–The American to Australian Coffee Translation Dictionary (say that five times fast)…

As an American, I have been said to be quite partial to the Starbucks Latte, Skinny latte that is (I am preparing for a solid 6 months of bikini weather after all). I was no less than thrilled to find out about Australia’s coffee culture, specifically that in Melbourne! I have taken some great coffees in my time, from the classic Canadian Tim Hortons brew in Montreal, to local Latte Art at the hipster joint next door.

Word on the street has it that Australians have their own dictionary when it comes to ordering coffee. I personally have shamed a few people out of line at Starbucks, as I order my half-sweet, non-fat, grande mocha,  no whip, and make that a double. So I figured i had better do my research, because this girl is not one to get embarrassed while ordering a coffee–can you say tourist.

 

 

Image

I present to you….

The American to Australian Coffee Translation Dictionary

Single Shot  – Short Black

(Raphael’s Favorite) Americano (aka a shot watered down) – Tall Black

Flat White – Espresso with Steamed Milk (no foam)

(Claire’s Favorite) Cafe Latte – Espresso with Steamed Milk (with foam) aka Flat White with Foam

 Cappuccino – Cappuccino

Affogato – a shot of espresso poured over ice cream

Espresso with milk (cold) – Short Macchiato

Image

One thought on “Cafe-Frappa-Cappa-Waaa–The American to Australian Coffee Translation Dictionary (say that five times fast)…

Leave a Reply

