The Liebster Award!

liebster_award_badges

 

The Liebster Award!

Wow! Our first blog award! Passed on from blogger to blogger to congratulate and highlight blooming young blogs, the Liebster Award helps drive traffic, and interest. While the past few months from Montreal to Melbourne have been a bit chaotic, I couldn’t be happier with my new hobby, blogging! I feel as if I can now officially call myself a blogger!

The Rules

  • Thank the blogger who gave it to you.
  • Answer the eleven questions they ask you.
  • Nominate eleven bloggers with less than 500 followers.
  • Ask those eleven bloggers eleven questions.
  • Let those lovely bloggers know they’ve been nominated so they can continue the chain!

The Thank You!

Firstly, I would like to thank fellow blogger Becky from “Been There, Seen That, Got the Postcard. Check out all of her lovely travels, photos, and postcards on her site: http://gotthepostcard.com/. As an avid postcard writer and collector myself, I agree that a trip would not be complete without that ideal postcard of The Eiffel Tower, The Sydney Opera House, or The Empire State Building. I can only hope that one day you get around to sending a few of the cards! However, I do agree that snail mail is quite the process!

My Answers to You!


 

Where is your favorite place?

Having spent the past 3 years of my college/uni life in Montreal, I have to say that is has become one of my favorite places. While I grew up in Chicago, and would love to say that this is my favorite place, I feel as if Montreal is a place I have developed as a “home” with all of my little places and hideouts! So, while I will be sad to say bye-bye to Melbourne, I can’t wait to return to Montreal in August!


How do you pass time on a journey?

Well, I never travel with a cell phone or computer, so I am happy to say that I do my best to absorb myself in the moment. In general, you will catch me looking out the window. If not, I will read a local gossip magazine, even though I never know any of the celebrities!


What’s the biggest lesson learnt from your travels?

Don’t sweat under-preparation! Now, that is not me advocating for showing up to a trip with no coat in the Winter. Instead, it means that you should not read every page of the Lonely Planet Guide before you get there! Especially as a young traveller with no kids in tote, it doesn’t matter if you don’t know where you’re going to dinner tonight, or if you end up in a slightly shady hotel, or if you make a wrong turn and end up taking a 7 hour hike. It is all about appreciating every moment, and you find yourself stumbling across a whole new array of travel adventures without your head buried in a guide book trying to navigate yourself to the cafe on page 7.


Best travel tip?

Try to not get overly tempted by the Tourist attractions! For me, the best things I have seen and enjoyed were not on the top 10 must do’s of the place I was. For instance, in Paris I love the Pantheon, not The Eiffel Tower; in Melbourne I skip Hardware Lane for brunch and head to Mitte; in New Zeland’s South Island I went to Mount Cook and loved it ten times more than Milford Sound the #1 MUST do. Accept your interests and trust your travel gut. Bonus: by avoiding the tourist attractions, you get to have a more independent and customized experience!


Do you have any trips planned?

I’m on one right now! I guess the next potential trip I have coming up may be to Sydney…but referring to my tip above, I don’t know if I will be getting myself stuck in a tourist trap!


If you could have any job in the world, what would you do?

I would love LOVE Love to be a chef! I don’t want to be one of those 5 star phrou-phrous, but instead the cooker of the ultimate-go-to brunch serving up international cuisines, and constantly changing up the menu!


Solo travel or with a friend?

I think the key word is friend. I would say it is always best to travel in pairs, or in an even number. I have heaps of friends who are solo travels, but I think it is great to be able to exchange ideas, always have someone to chat with, or eat with! That being said, make sure you travel with someone who has a similar budget, fitness level, and travel interests. If they want to see nature and you want to see the city buzz, neither of you will be happy.


What is your dream destination?

Recently, I have been thinking a lot about the Scandinavian countries. That, or Iceland.


What is your favorite food?

There is absolutely no way I could choose just one. How about a favorite plate for each meal.

Breakfast: Poached Pear Breakfast Crumble

Lunch: A Turkey Sandwich on Pumpkin Sour Dough and Avocado Smash with Sweet Potato Fries

Dinner: Thanksgiving. Easy.

Side: Bocconicini Salad or Mashed Potatoes

Late Night: Poutine


 

Summer or Winter?

Is Fall an option? Well, if not I guess Winter, I love the cold and absolutely detest being too hot!


Which superpower would you choose to have?

Brains!


My Nominations

Now, I am supposed to nominate 11 bloggers with fewer than 500 followers who I follow and have been following! Wow! It was harder than I expected scrounging up this list. I am almost embarrassed with myself for following as few blossoming bloggers as I do! Well, shout out to you fellow travelers, cooks, and foodies! 

1. The Global Gourmand

2. The World on My Necklace

3. Hot Mess Goes to OZ

4. TOZANITA

5. Mags On The Move

6. Kristina Meets World

7. …And I Wanna Go Home!

8. the Elliott Quest

9. SMALL-TOWN GRILS, MIDNIGHT TRAINS 

10. photravels

11. It’s a Hanoian Life


My Questions to You!

1. Which country boasts the best cuisine?

2. I’d rather be……   

3. When bored and online, you find myself wandering onto what website

4. If you could move anywhere for the next year, no consequences, where would it be?

5. When travelling, what do you miss most about home, or your usual routine?

6. What is the “strangest” thing you have eaten on your travels, well, at least strange to what your friends at home might think?

7. What is your go-to source for travel information?

8. What do you most prefer to blog about when travelling? Food? Culture? Musings? Nature? Plans?

9. What is your favorite word, phrase, or quote in a language other than English?

10. What of your travel experiences do you think needs a do-over? As in, you could have gone about it better or in a different way looking back

11. What is the drink of choice in the place you are currently?

 

Happy Blogging! 

One thought on “The Liebster Award!

  1. Pingback: My first Blogging Award! | The World on my Necklace

Leave a Reply

